MACDL Awards

Joseph J. Balliro Award

The Balliro Award is presented annually in recognition of a lifetime dedication and commitment to the rights of the accused

Joseph Balliro

Janice Bassil

Charlie Clifford

Earl Cooley

Richie Egbert

Peter Ettenberg

Andy Good

David Hoose

Bill Leahy

Judith Lindahl

Charles McGinty

Tracy Miner

Joseph Oteri

Marty Rosenthal

Bob Sheketoff

Max Stern

Linda Thompson

John Wall

Elliot Weinstein

Norman Zalkind

Clarence Gideon Award

The MACDL Clarence Gideon Award is presented annually to recognize champions of the noblest principle that all persons shall stand equal before the law.

William Leahy

Stephanie Page (January 2012

Leslie Walker (June 2012)

Roger Witkin (January 2013)

John Salsberg (March 2014)

Arnold Abelow (January 2015)

Anne Goldbach (June 2016)

Cathy Bennett ( June 2017)

Brownlow Speer Award

The Speer Award is presented annually to recognize those defense attorneys whose appellate work exemplifies the highest standards of  excellence in service of those accused of crime.

Browlow Speer (February 2013)

Wendy Sibbison (June 2014)

John Thompson (June 2015)

Beth Eisenberg ( July 2016)

MACDL Special Achievement Awards

State Senator Cynthia Creem - Legislative Excellence

Hon. Michael J. Ponsor- Judicial Achievement Award - (January 2012)

Hon. Nancy Gertner - Judicial Excellence Award- (January 2013)

Susan Mellen - Public Service Award - (March 2014)

Carol Ball - Judicial Excellence Award - (July 2016)

President's Award

Michael Keating, David Kluft, Daniel McFadden & Foley Hoag, LLP - (June 2013)

Federal Defenders Office - (June 2014)

Edward P. Ryan, Jr. - (January 2015)

Patricia Garin - (July 2016)

Matthew Segal (June 2017)

Massachusetts Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (MACDL)
321 Walnut St.
, Newton, MA 02460
E-mail address:
Visit us on Facebook
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software